Respiratory Care Section

Guidelines for Governance
SCCM Connect
Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests. This space will combine the functionality of the iRoom and eCommunity.

The respiratory therapist (RT) is an integral part of the team, providing expertise in airway management, mechanical ventilation, and physiologic monitoring. This section communicates to the Society on issues dealing with respiratory care practice and provides technical expertise and guidance for the mutual interests of critical care respiratory therapists and the Society.
The section aims to provide support to the Society and section members through research and education in the areas of clinical, scientific and technical aspects of patient care. It accomplishes this mission through:
Education: Develop a plan to assure that the Section becomes an integral part of the Society by educating both the Society members and the special interests of the Respiratory Care Section members. This includes providing information about the role of the RT in critical care and exploring expanded roles and educational opportunities.
Research: Design a means to promote research among the section members through abstracts, posters, and studies.
Communication: A key to the success of the section is developing a communication structure to relay information among the Society, the Section Chair, and the section members.

Section Officers

Keith D. Lamb, RRT, ACCS, FAARC, FCCM 
University of Virginia 
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA 
Term:  2019 - 2021 

Madison Fratzke, BSRT, RRT-ACCS 
Franciscan St. Francis Health 
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA 
Term:  2019 – 2021 
Felix Khusid, BS, RRT, FCCM 
New York Methodist Hospital 
Brooklyn, New York, USA 
Term:  2019 – 2021 
Members at-Large: 
Dennis Disney, RRT, RRT-ACCS 
Indiana University-IU Health Methodist Hospital 
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA 
Term: 2019 - 2022

Vinay Maheshwari, MD, MHCDS 
Christiana Care Health System 
Newark, Delaware, USA 
Term: 2019 - 2022 

Sujanthy S. Rajaram, MD, MPH 
Hackensack University Medical Center 
East Windsor, New Jersey, USA 
Term: 2019 - 2022 

Danny Theodore, MD 
University of Virginia Medical Center 
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA 
Term: 2019 - 2022 

SCCM Council Liaison: 
Michele Moss, MD, FCCM 
Arkansas Children's Hospital 
Little Rock, Arkansas, USA