Log In
Forgot username or password?
New User? Sign Up Free.

Nursing Section

Guidelines for Governance 

SCCM Connect  
Section Members: Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests.

The Nursing Section of the Society of Critical Care Medicine is a vibrant and active specialty section composed of nurses and other healthcare professionals from diverse clinical, administrative, educational, and research roles in the field of critical care. The Nursing Section exists to further the education and promote the interest of Society members who have special interest and maintain activity as nurses and other healthcare professionals in critical care.
The Nursing Section governance provides a structure and forum for representation in the section to discuss and act upon specialty-specific issues and to affect change on a more personal level. The governance is guided by a strategic plan and enacted by the section leadership. A variety of section committee opportunities are available, including Advanced Practice and Professional Development, Communication and Recognition, Membership, and Research Committees. The Nursing Section communicates with its members via SCCM Connect. In addition to networking and communicating with nursing professionals within the Society, members can communicate on a broader scale using the Advanced Nursing Practice in Acute and Critical Care (ANPACC) electronic listserv. The section also provides a variety of programs.

Nursing Section members are also eligible for a variety of section-specific awards and grants, including the Research Scholarship Award, the ICCN-SCCM Award, the Norma J. Shoemaker Grant for Critical Care Nursing Research, and the Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence.

Section membership provides a voice within the Society, a chance to influence the direction and decision-making of SCCM, including membership on Society-wide committees. Mentorship for nurses seeking Fellowship in the American College of Critical Care Medicine is also available through the section.

Section Officers


Brian K. Jefferson, ACNP, DNP, FCCM
Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Term: 2018 - 2020
Sheila A. Alexander, BSN, PhD, RN, FCCM
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Term: 2018 - 2020
Sandy M. Swoboda, RN, MS, FCCM
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Term: 2018 - 2020
Members at-Large
Daniel Arellano, ACNP, CCRN, MSN
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas
Term 2017 - 2020
Donna Lee Armaignac, CCNS, PhD, PhD
Baptist Health South Florida
Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Term: 2018 - 2021
Samantha Gambles Farr, MSN NP-C
UC San Diego Health System
San Diego, California, USA
Term: 2016 - 2019
Committee Information
Advanced Nursing Practice and Professional Development Committee
Lisa M. Soltis, BA, BSN, CCNS, CCRN, FCCM, Chair
Term: 2017 - 2019

Rhonda L. D'Agostino, ACNP, CCRN, CEN, Chair-elect
Term: 2017 - 2019
Communications Committee
Heather Meissen, ACNP, CCRN, FCCM, Chair
Term: 2018 - 2020
Membership and Recognition Committee
Lynn J. Hydo, MBA, RN, FCCM, Chair
Term: 2018 - 2020

Vanessa Kalis, ACNP, CPNP, DNP, RN, Chair-elect
Term: 2018 - 2020
Research and Scholarship Committee
Mary E. Lough, CCRN, CNS, PhD, FCCM, Chair
Term: 2017 - 2019

Judy E. Davidson, DNP, RN, FAAN, FCCM, Chair-elect
Term: 2017 - 2019