Neuroscience Section

Guidelines for Governance

SCCM Connect
Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests. This space will combine the functionality of the iRoom and eCommunity.

A specialty in critical care medicine and neuroscience provides the foundation for the Neuroscience Section. This section educates and promotes the interdisciplinary practice of critical care medicine by neurologists, neurosurgeons, neuroanesthesiologists, and other healthcare professionals. The section advises the Society on matters pertaining to neuroscience and supports the research and practice of neuroscience and critical care medicine.

The Neuroscience Section provides members with the opportunity to network with critical care colleagues, influence the neuroscience profession, and strengthen leadership skills. In addition, one can contribute to both the section and SCCM at large through the Neuroscience Section.

John V. Agapian, MD, MSc, FACS, FCCM
University of California, Riverside
Moreno Valley, California, USA
Term: 2018 – 2020 
Lori A. Shutter, MD, FNCS, FCCM
UPMC/University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Term: 2018 - 2020
Fred Rincon, MD, MS, FCCM
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Term: 2018 – 2020
Members at-Large:
Karen G. Hirsch, MD
Stanford Stroke Center
Stanford, California, USA
Term: 2018 – 2020
Avinash B. Kumar, MD, FCCM
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Term: 2016 – 2019
George A. Lopez, MD, PhD
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Term: 2016 – 2019
Venkatakrishna Rajajee, MD
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Term: 2018 - 2020
Axel Rosengart, MD, MPH, PhD
Cedars Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles, California, USA
Term: 2018 - 2020
Council Liaison:
Cherylee W.J. Chang, MD, FCCM
The Queen’s Medical Center
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA