Log In
Forgot username or password?
New User? Sign Up Free.

Anesthesiology Section

Guidelines for Governance
Burchardi Award 

SCCM Connect  
Section Members: Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests. 
Core Values
High-quality patient care
We seek to provide an evidence-based structure and process for the care of the critically ill. Our care should be safe, effective, efficient, patient-centered, timely, and equitable. Our approach is metric and outcomes driven. We continually strive to refine and refocus our efforts to improve patient outcomes and care.
An educational environment
We believe that the best care is delivered in an educational environment.
We seek explanations for clinically relevant problems and strive to find and develop new and innovative solutions so that our patients are assured of receiving leading-edge care.
Patient, family and surrogate satisfaction
We strive to identify all patients, family members and surrogates and attempt to understand and honor their value. We pledge to measure and monitor levels of satisfaction with the care we provide and to continually improve service satisfaction.
Ethical practice
We value reliability, trust and integrity in all aspects of our work.
We strive to create a culture of safety.

Section Officers


Michael Nurok, MBChB, PhD, FCCM
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles, California, USA
Term:  2019 to 2021

Miguel A. Cobas, MD, FCCM 
Jackson South Community Hospital
Miami, Florida, USA
Term:  2019 to 2021

Mark E. Nunnally, MD, FCCM
NYU Langone Medical Center
New York, New York, USA
Term: 2019 to 2021

Past Chair
Gregory E. Kerr, MBA, MD, FCCM
Harlem Hospital Center
New York, New York, USA
Term: 2019 to 2021

Members at-Large
Raquel R. Bartz, MD, MMCi
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Term: 2019 to 2021

Talia K. Ben-Jacob, MD, MS
Cooper University Health Care
Camden, New Jersey, USA
Term: 2019 to 2021
Suzanne Bennett, MD
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Term:  2020 to 2022
Jose L. Diaz-Gomez, MD, FASE, FCCM
Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center
Houston, Texas, USA
Term: 2017 to 2022
Samuel M. Galvagno, DO, MS, PhD, FCCM
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Term: 2018 to 2022
Ashish K. Khanna, MD, FCCP, FCCM
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Term: 2019 to 2021
Council Liaison
Daniel R. Brown, MD, PhD, FCCM
Mayo Foundation
Rochester, Minnesota, USA​