SCCM is performing maintenance on its websites. For the best browsing experience, please use Microsoft Edge or Safari. Those using Chrome or Firefox may experience access issues at this time.

Surgery Section

The Surgery Section, the second largest in the Society, continues to gain strength and be an active and integral part of SCCM.

visual bubble
visual bubble
visual bubble
visual bubble

Guidelines for Governance

SCCM Connect
Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests. This space will combine the functionality of the iRoom and eCommunity.

The Surgery Section, the second largest in the Society, continues to gain strength and be an active and integral part of SCCM. The section is composed of surgeons who focus on the comprehensive evaluation and management of patients with critical surgical illnesses. Involvement is welcome and encouraged. Young surgeons can become actively involved in a vibrant society, with opportunities in a variety of areas. No other medical society can offer the diverse multiprofessional environment and opportunities that are available here.

Section Activities 
The Surgery Section is represented on Council as well as on the Executive Committee. This representation is vital as decisions and strategic planning for the Society are made through the Council, and the President is elected from the Executive Committee. Section members are active in the Society as a whole, belonging to various other working committees including the Program Committee for the Annual Congress and the Ethics Committee of the American College of Critical Care Medicine.

Surgery Section activities have focused on surgical critical care physicians and physicians in training. The Education Committee, whose primary goal is to improve the education of surgery residents, developed a series of recommendations regarding surgical critical care education. These recommendations have been published in Critical Care Medicine. The Communication Committee, whose goal is to improve communication between the Surgery Section leadership and section members, is reorganizing the Surgery Section iRoom as the repository for all information; it provides contact information on Surgery Section leadership to members in the iRoom, sends out frequent emails to membership, and is developing a white paper regarding the changing structure of training in trauma and surgical critical care. The Membership Committee works within the structure of SCCM to improve membership in the Surgery Section and to encourage renewal of current members within the Society.

Through leadership and involvement in the Society, the Surgery Section makes significant impact. Recommendations have been forwarded from the Society's president to the administrator of the Department of Health and Human Services regarding the unbundling of surgical and critical care charges, making it possible for surgeons to bill for their surgical procedures and for critical care services. Important issues such as these, which impact on both the training and practice of surgical critical care, are what drive the section leadership.

Section Officers

Susan L. Evans, MD, FCCM
Carolinas Medical Center, Atrium Health
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Term: 2020 - 2021
Salman Ahmad, MD, FACS, FCCM
University of Missouri Health Care
Columbia, Missouri, USA
Term: 2020 - 2021
Deborah A. Kuhls, MD, FACS, FCCM
University of Nevada School of Medicine
Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Term: 2020 - 2021
Terence O'Keeffe, MB, ChB, BSc, FCCM
Augusta University Medical Center
Augusta, Georgia, USA
Term: 2020 – 2021
Members at-Large
Education Committee
Philip A. Efron, MD, FACS, FCCM, Chair
University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida, USA
Term: 2020 - 2021
Nicole Siparsky, MD, Vice-Chair
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Term: 2020 - 2023
Membership Committee
Charles A. Adams Jr., MD, FCCM, Chair
Brown University
Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Term: 2019 – 2022
Niels D. Martin, MD, FCCM, Vice-chair
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Term: 2018 - 2022
Patient Safety Committee
Kathleen B. To, MD, Chair
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Term: 2018 – 2021
Ariel P. Santos, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC, FCCM, Vice-chair
Texas Tech University Health Science Center
Lubbock, Texas, USA
Term: 2018 – 2021
Strategic Planning Committee
Kristine A.K. Lombardozzi, MD, FCCM, Chair
Regional Surgical Specialists
Spartanburg, South Carolina, USA
2020 - 2023
Isaiah R. Turnbull, MD, PhD, Vice-Chair
Washington University in Saint Louis School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
2020 - 2023
Council Liaison
Pauline Park, MD, FACS, FCCM
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA