SCCM is performing maintenance on its websites. For the best browsing experience, please use Microsoft Edge or Safari. Those using Chrome or Firefox may experience access issues at this time.

Neuroscience Section

A specialty in critical care medicine and neuroscience provides the foundation for the Neuroscience Section.

visual bubble
visual bubble
visual bubble
visual bubble

Guidelines for Governance

SCCM Connect
Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests. This space will combine the functionality of the iRoom and eCommunity.

A specialty in critical care medicine and neuroscience provides the foundation for the Neuroscience Section. This section educates and promotes the interdisciplinary practice of critical care medicine by neurologists, neurosurgeons, neuroanesthesiologists, and other healthcare professionals. The section advises the Society on matters pertaining to neuroscience and supports the research and practice of neuroscience and critical care medicine.

The Neuroscience Section provides members with the opportunity to network with critical care colleagues, influence the neuroscience profession, and strengthen leadership skills. In addition, one can contribute to both the section and SCCM at large through the Neuroscience Section.

Section Officers
George A. Lopez, MD, PhD, FCCM
Swedish Neurological Institute
Seattle, Washington, USA
Term: 2021 - 2023
Jose Javier Provencio, MD, FCCM
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Term: 2021 - 2023
Rhonda S. Cadena, MD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Term: 2019 - 2023
Lori A. Shutter, MD, FCCM
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Term: 2021 - 2023
Members At-Large
Bradley Dengler, MD
Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Term: 2021 - 2023
Rajeev K. Garg, MD
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Term: 2020 - 2022
Anna Karpenko, BS, MD
Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals
Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA
Term: 2020 - 2022
Christopher Channing Morrison, BCCCP, PharmD, FNCS
Grady Memorial Hospital
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Term: 2020 - 2022
Aarti Sarwal, MD
Wake Forest Baptist Health Center
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA 
Term: 2021 - 2023
Council Liaison
Cherylee W.J. Chang, MD, FCCM
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina, USA