Innovation in Education Award

The Innovation in Education Award, sponsored by the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), recognizes an educator or team of educators who demonstrate excellence and creativity in the development of an innovative educational program. The award was established to recognize meritorious educational program development that will enhance education (particularly multiprofessional education) relating to management of the critically ill patient. 

The educational program can be focused on any specific type of learner; however, programs that involve multiprofessional education will be viewed favorably. Programs or approaches that can readily be used in other institutions will also be viewed favorably. 
The award recipient will receive a commemorative plaque and one complimentary registration to SCCM’s Critical Care Congress. 

Deadline and Submission 
The deadline to submit an application is August 1. The application period will open soon. 

By submitting an application, the applying team agrees to allow SCCM to use information from its application to publicly promote innovations in education and the award. 


  • The application must be submitted by an SCCM member. 
  • Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible to apply during their terms of service. 
  • Awarded teams must wait at least three years after receiving the award to reapply. They can reapply only if their application demonstrates a new program, not continuations of previous applications. This three-year wait period allows for administration and evaluation of the new program. 

Criteria and Notification 

  • The selection committee considers the following criteria when evaluating applications: 
  • Development of an educational program related to management of the critically ill patient 
  • Demonstration that the program is novel and innovative 
  • Demonstration of the effectiveness of the program based on evaluations by participants or other data
Prior to the Critical Care Congress, SCCM will notify all applying teams of the results. The award will presented at the SCCM Awards/American College of Critical Care Medicine Convocation Ceremony during the Critical Care Congress.

For more information, contact Diane Alberson