Log In
Forgot username or password?
New User? Sign Up Free.

Family-Centered Care Award

The Family-Centered Care Innovation Award is presented to a unit or program that demonstrates novel, effective methods of providing care to critically ill and injured patients and their families. The awardee team receives one complimentary Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) Critical Care Congress registration. Up to two other teams receive honorable mentions.

Deadline and Submission

Applications are due August 1.

Please use the following guidelines when submitting your team’s application:

  • Limit the application to three typed pages.
  • On page one (the cover), include your team’s institution/affiliation, unit or program name, and address. List all of your team members’ names, credentials, and roles. Note which team member you would like SCCM to contact about the award and that person’s address, phone, fax, and email.
  • On pages two and three, describe your team’s critical care setting and how it supports patients and their families. SCCM will remove identifying information such as names from these pages to ensure impartial evaluation.

By submitting an application, the team agrees to allow SCCM to use information from its application to publicly promote the award and patient- and family-centered care.


The Patient and Family Support Committee considers the following criteria when evaluating applications:
  • Implementation of projects linked to direct patient care
  • Demonstration of innovation that provides models for emulation
  • Evidence of multiprofessional efforts to improve care that includes families in the intensive care unit (ICU)
  • Provision of comprehensive services
  • Fostering of support for families of critically ill and injured patients in ways that are meaningful to families
  • Inclusion of families in efforts to provide care to critically ill and injured patients during their ICU stay, including end-of-life care
  • Provision of data for evaluation of effectiveness


  • Applicants must describe patient- and family-centered care initiatives that have been in place for at least one year.
  • At least one member of the applying team must be a current member of SCCM.
  • Patient and Family Support Committee members can apply only if they step down from evaluating applications in the years they apply.
  • Awardee teams and teams receiving honorable mention must wait at least three years after receiving the award to reapply. They can reapply only if their application demonstrates new initiatives, not continuations of previous applications. This three-year wait period allows for implementation and evaluation of the new initiatives.


The awardee team and honorable mention teams are notified by November 1. The Patient and Family Support Committee gives all non-awardees positive feedback and encourage them to reapply. The award is presented during the ACCM Convocation/SCCM Awards Presentation during the SCCM Critical Care Congress.

Questions related to this award may be directed to Adair Andrews