Log In
Forgot username or password?
New User? Sign Up Free.

Burchardi Award

The Burchardi Award, sponsored by the Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists (SOCCA) and the Society of Critical Care Medicine’s (SCCM) Anesthesiology Section, is named after Hilmar C. Burchardi, MD. Dr. Burchardi was a pioneer in the field, a revered teacher and founding member of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine, over which he presided from 1998 to 2000. The award was first established and presented to Dr. Burchardi in 2002 at the SCCM Critical Care Congress.

The award is presented every two years (in even years), alternately at a SOCCA or SCCM event.


Nominees should meet the following criteria:

  • Be an anesthesia-based intensivist who has been practicing for at least 12 years
  • Hold a leadership position in at least one of the established national or international critical care societies or organizations
  • Have made considerable contributions to the specialty, not necessarily in terms of research, but especially in terms of ability to motivate and connect with people
  • Have leadership qualities, as defined by competence, humility, humanity, and a sense of humor
  • Be a member of at least one, but preferably both, sponsoring organizations

Nomination Process

Nominations are reviewed by the president of SOCCA and/or the chair of the SCCM Anesthesiology Section. Respective boards from each of the organizations deliberate and vote on the matter in October.

For additional information regarding this award, please contact Carol Prendergast