Log In
Forgot username or password?
New User? Sign Up Free.

Barry A. Shapiro

The Barry A. Shapiro Memorial Award for Excellence in Critical Care Management recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the design and/or implementation of evidence-based practice that has significantly impacted clinical, operational, or fiscal outcomes within the awardee’s area of responsibility. The awardee receives $500 and complimentary Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) Critical Care Congress registration.
Applications are due September 1, 2020.
Submission Requirements
A nomination letter must be submitted, describing how the nominee meets the criteria.  One letter of support and curriculum vitae is also required.
Eligibility Criteria
The nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Either self-nominate or be nominated by an SCCM member in good standing
  • Show a history of employment and be engaged in a clinical environment in a position of leadership as evidenced by leadership roles nominee has held or currently holds related to the clinical practice of critical care
The selection committee considers the following criteria:
  • Has the nominee met all of the eligibility criteria noted above?
  • Has the nominee made a significant contribution(s) to the design and/or implementation of evidence-based practice?
  • Has the nominee significantly impacted clinical, operational, or fiscal outcomes?
  • Has the nominee demonstrated the use of the multiprofessional team in achieving the stated outcomes?
  • Has the nominee demonstrated the “Learn It, Deliver It, Measure It, and Improve It” quality improvement paradigm in regular use at the nominee’s institution?
  • Is the nominee a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine (FCCM) in good standing?
  • Does the intensive care unit (ICU) meet the Leapfrog Group’s ICU Physician Staffing (IPS) standard?
    • Hospitals fulfilling the IPS standard operate adult or pediatric general medical and/or surgical ICUs and neurologic ICUs that are managed or comanaged by intensivists who:
      • Are present during daytime hours and provide clinical care exclusively in the ICU
      • When not present on site or via telemedicine, return pages at least 95% of the time (i) within five minutes and (ii) arrange for a physician or physician extender certified in Fundamental Critical Care Support (FCCS) to reach ICU patients within five minutes.

Selection and Notification
The Awards Committee of the American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) Board of Regents selects the awardee by ranking the qualifying submissions. The committee forwards the nominee with the highest ranking to the Board of Regents for approval. The Board of Regents in turn forwards the nominee to the Executive Committee for final approval. The Awards Committee might not present an award in a given year should it find that no candidate meets minimum criteria.
The awardee is notified by November 1. The award is presented during the ACCM Convocation/SCCM Awards Presentation during the SCCM Critical Care Congress.

Questions related to this award may be directed to Carol Prendergast